Connecticut Auto Insurance
Vehicle owners who reside in Connecticut, must register their vehicles and provide proof of the state’s minimum mandatory coverages which are currently:
• $20,000 in Bodily Injury Liability coverage per person
• $40,000 in Bodily Injury Liability coverage per accident
• $10,000 in Property Damage coverage per accident
• $20,000 in Uninsured Motorist Coverage per person
• $40,000 in Uninsured Motorist Coverage per accident
Understanding Your Personal Auto Insurance Choices
Even drivers who have been on the road many years aren’t always aware how different coverages benefit them and why they should be considered. Insurance terms and conditions can be confusing, so we want to make sure you understand what you are buying and not buying.
Bodily Injury Liability (Required)
Bodily injury liability coverage provides the protection you need if you are responsible for injuries or death to a third party in an at-fault accident. Although Connecticut requires car owners to carry $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident, we recommend purchasing higher limits so that you will have sufficient coverage.
Property Damage Liability (Required)
Your property damage liability coverage will pay to repair or replace a third party’s property when you are responsible for an accident. Connecticut requires drivers to carry at least $10,000 which is unlikely to be enough coverage if you cause damage to an expensive vehicle or if your at-fault accident involves multiple vehicles.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (Required)
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UM) coverage pays when if you are injured in an accident and the at-fault driver does carry enough insurance or isn’t covered at all. It also pays in the event of a hit and run.
Medical payments help pay for injuries to an insured driver and other passengers in the event of an accident. It will also cover the named insured as a passenger in another vehicle or as a pedestrian. The coverage applies no matter who is at fault.
Comprehensive coverage pays to repair or replace your vehicle when it is damaged for reasons other than an accident, such as vandalism, flood damage, theft, and fire damage, and is subject to your deductible.
Collision coverage pays to repair or replace your car after an at-fault accident and is subject to your deductible. It will also pay if your car is damaged by an uninsured third party.
This optional coverage will reimburse you up to the limit you select if you require roadside assistance for events such as break down, lock out, tire change or repair, and fuel.
This is an optional coverage that will reimburse you if you are forced to rent a vehicle while yours is under repair because of an accident, subject to the per-day limit you’ve selected.
Many states have different liability limit requirements than Connecticut. The good news is that your insurance will automatically convert to the minimum limits required by the state you may be driving in if yours isn’t sufficient.
The insurance professionals at New England Insurance recognize that vehicles owners will have different insurance needs. Our team members are prepared to discuss your individual situation and make the best and most affordable recommendations to meet your needs and fit within your budget.